Posted on 11/15/2012, 11:49 am, by

Vic Toews, Member of Parliament for Provencher, proudly presented the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal to 38 residents of southeastern Manitoba.

Diamond Jubilee Medal presentation

Diamond Jubilee Medal presented to Gilbert Fehr and World War II veteran Richard Sellen.

The formal ceremony was held at the Mennonite Heritage Village Museum where more than 150 guests shared the special occasion with the recipients.

The Diamond Jubilee commemorative medal was created to mark the 2012 celebrations of the 60th anniversary of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II’s accession to the Throne as Queen of Canada. The Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal is a tangible way for Canada to honour Her Majesty for her service to this country. At the same time, it serves to honour significant contributions and achievements by Canadians.

“I was delighted to recognize these distinguished individuals who have given so much of their time and energy to help enrich their communities,” said MP Toews. “On behalf of the Governor General of Canada, it was truly an honour to present the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee Medal to these tireless volunteers and community leaders.”

List of recipients:

• Roger Armbruster – Niverville
• Daryl Braun – Steinbach
• Joseph Brodeur – St. Adolphe
• Luc Catellier – St. Pierre
• Jim Danilchuk – Carrick
• Pastor Jake Doell – Lac du Bonnet
• Brad Dowler – Dugald
• Bev Dubé – Powerview
• Diane Dubé – St. Georges
• Peter Dyck – Steinbach
• Wayne Ewasko, MLA – Beausejour
• Gilbert Fehr – Steinbach
• Anne Friesen – Steinbach
• Marilyn A. Gass – St. Malo
• Kelvin Goertzen, MLA – Steinbach
• Cliff Graydon, MLA – Woodmore
• Gladys Hayward-Williams – Dugald
• Berny Hiebert – Steinbach
• Jacob Hiebert – Steinbach
• Don Janzen – Steinbach
• Elsie Janzen – Steinbach
• Fred Kaita – Tourond
• Walter Kukurudz – Pinawa
• Gerry Maynard – St. Malo
• Robert Parent  – St. Joseph
• Jack Penner – Altona
• Pat Porter – Steinbach
• Loren Schinkel – Lac du Bonnet
• Ron Schuler, MLA – East St. Paul
• Richard Sellen – Oakbank
• Dennis Smook, MLA – Vita
• Robert  Stark – Dominion City
• Mona Stott – Niverville
• Mavis Taillieu, MLA – Headingley
• Rev. Werner Trapp – Steinbach
• Roger Vermette – St. Jean-Baptiste
• Edna Vogt – New Bothwell
• Gary Walker – Oakbank

Recipients who were previously presented with the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee Medal:

• Paul Vielfaure, La Broquerie
• Gus Konkel. St. Pierre
• Jacob Kleinsasser, Crystal Spring Colony, Ste. Agathe
• George Harbottle, Pine Falls. (Deceased). Accepted on George’s behalf by his wife Suzanne Harbottle.